IATA Tariff Conference Zones

In order to fully understand the routing of Airlines and their respective fare calculations, the International Air Transport Association IATA divided the world's geographical area into three known as Tariff Conference 1, 2 and 3. The division is also specifically known as Passenger Tariff Conference. The covered area of each zone is discussed below.

Tariff Conference 1 or TC 1 is composed of the American continent, both North and South. It has *two sub-area* classification: American Classification and Atlantic Classification.

First let us enumerate the first sub-areas under American Classification. They are the following:

- North America
- Canada, US, Mexico and St. Pierre & Miguelon
- Central America
- Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala Honduras and Nicaragua
- Caribbean Sub-Area -
- Bahamas, Bermuda, Guyana, French Guiana, Suriname and the Caribbean Islands
- South America
- Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and Venezuela

The second classification of sub-areas of TC 1 is the Atlantic Classification and those are the following:

- North Atlantic
- Canada, Greenland, Mexico, US, Puerto Rico and US Virgin Islands
- Mid Atlantic
- composed of the Caribbean area, Central America and South America except for those who are listed under the next sub-area
- South Atlantic
- Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Paraguay and Uruguay

Tariff Conference 2 or TC 2 is subdivided into *three main sub-areas* and those are the following:

- Europe
- all European countries plus the Russian provinces located west of Ural Mountains
- Africa
- this is still subdivided into 6 sub-regions
 - o Central Africa Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe
 - Eastern Africa Burundi, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya,
 Rwanda, Somalia, Tanzania and Uganda
 - Southern Africa Botswana, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa and Swaziland
 - Libva or Libva Arab Jamahiriva
 - Indian Oceans Islands Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Mavotte. Reunion and Sevchelles
 - Western Africa Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Congo-Brazaville, Congo-Kinshasa, Cote d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo
- Middle East
- Bahrain, Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Sultanate of Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, UAE, and Yemen

Tariff Conference 3 or TC 3 is composed of the remaining area which is almost the entire continent of Asia and the neighboring islands. Listed below are the *4 sub-areas*:

- Southeast Asia
- Brunei, Cambodia, China, Taipei, Hong Kong, Guam, Indonesia,
- Kazakhstan, Laos, Macao, Malaysia, Kyrgyzstan, Marshall Islands,
- Micronesia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau,
- Philippines, Russia (East of Ural Mountains), Singapore, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor Leste and Turkmenistan

- South Asian or Indian- Sub-Continent
 - Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka
- Japan and Korea
- Southwest Pacific
- American Samoa, Australia, Cook Islands, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Caledonia New Zealand, Niue, Papua New Guinea, Independent State of Samoa, Solomon Island, Tonga, Vanuatu and Wallis & Futuna Islands